Perception and Deception review 

Ever tried to solve a problem with minimum  information? I mean so little information that you may as well not even bothered in the first place. Such as when you mom tell you to go find their purse. The only information she gives though is that it is her purse and that it may or may not be pink.

That is basically the plot to this story.  A women by the name of Felix Jayne must find an protect a guy who was given a set of blueprints by his belated parents. That’s it. She has no other information to go but that they died of natural causes (old age) and what town they lived in.

Sure it being a small town should make it easy to find one lone middle age man but they forgot one thing. It is a small town and the people who live in small towns are middle-aged or elderly. Sure there are kids floating about but not a lot. I can remember maybe like two or three actual children being mentioned in this story…two or three.

But by golly she does it. Felix, along with her partner Wolf (there is a joke in there but I won’t stoop that low) are in the search for him so they can save his life from people trying to harm him.

Now I actually like some parts of these story. The story is fairly unique in that someone is doing actual freaking reasearch and isn’t just guessing as they go along. Considering it is a small town, this story can get away with ex machina moments. ‘OH the person I am looking for is conveniently outside, well time to chase them down’~
It was a bit silly but had some pretty cool moments.

Felix was a tab bit boring. Her speech pattern was annoying and I found myself cringing every time she took the spot light for a chapter. Even having people talk about her made me want to poke my eye balls out with a well oiled spike.

Now I do not blame the author for this. This is a women who was raised by two FBI agents. Fighting crime is practically all she knows.  I highly doubt she was allowed to have a normal childhood. So she is boring because she isn’t really living. Over time she develops something similar to a personality. And I love that. This is actually not a complaint.  Sure she reminds me of dried toast sprinkled with salt but it fits. It fits her character just nicely.

Her love interest Aston is awesome. He is sweet and just so awes. The only thing I do not like about him is how quickly he develops feelings for Felix. I mean he saw her once and automatically made a comment that he wanted to marry her. That was a bit creepy but again it fit. He was a complete loner growing up and had few people he trusted. He has never been in an actual relationship so he is like a little baby seeing their hand for first time. Had crushes for before but really doesn’t know what to do with these feelings because he always gets hurt in the end.

Due to the strange personalities and situations this story may be hard to read for some people. I found it to be refreshing is some areas but for the most part it is extremely descriptive and at times monotone. I did not get a visual of what was going on and had to skip a few pages just to find something a little more interesting.

The idea itself is wonderful and the characters are a nice change. The writing was a tad bit bland as stated above.

Despite all that I look forward to reading other books by this author. I believe that she has some amazing ideas to bring forth and I want to see it all unfold.

I would rate this story a 6/10. High points for originality but a loss of points for the MC. I think was less detective journal and a little more young adult finding herself, I would have rated it higher.

I hope to read more work by Andrea Hintz soon.

Find her on Goodreads and Amazon as well.

Leave a Reply

